Originally built in 1810, the 75-foot-tall lighthouse known as St Simon’s Island Lighthouse stood as a beacon to ships while warning of surrounding sand bars in the area, as it is able to cast its light up to 23 miles out to sea. This beautiful two-story St. Simons Island lighthouse now stands 104 feet tall (including the light atop the brick tower) and is viewed as a historical treasure among the community of St. Simons Island.
Located near the pier and the village, St. Simons Island Light is one of only five surviving lighthouses in Georgia. After the original St. Simons lighthouse structure was destroyed by Confederate forces in 1862 to prevent its use by Federal troops, it was later restored in 1872.
Visiting St. Simons Island Lighthouse
The current St. Simons lighthouse is as it was in 1872: a charming red-brick structure built in a trademark Victorian design. It houses both a museum and a gift shop for tourists to explore and enjoy. Visitors to this historic lighthouse are welcome to climb the 129 steps that lead up to the top of the lighthouse tower and experience the views of the nearby Jekyll Island, the south end of St. Simons Island, and the mainland (Brunswick).
Part of the fun of St. Simons light house is the local tale of a ghost that haunts the stairwells. Strange reports of a sighting have been part of the local news here and there since 1908. The hope of spotting a ghostly apparition brings curious tourists to the lighthouse to try their luck.
The St. Simons Island Lighthouse Museum is open Monday through Saturday from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. and on Sundays from 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. The last climb up the stairwell is at 4:30 p.m. so be prepared to plan your visit accordingly. St. Simons Island Light is located at 610 Beachview Drive, St. Simons Island, Georgia.